top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAraceli

National sport week in Nieuwegein - handball enthusiasts 🤾🏾‍♂️🤾🏽🤾‍♀️

Today is the opening of the ‘Nationale sportweek 2020’ and Nieuwegein is one of the cities hosting the event this year in the Netherlands. The national sport week is about encouraging people to be active, but reasons go beyond health and physical wellbeing, sporting conveys much more benefits. Sporting partly determines who we are, what we do, where and when, but above all, with whom we do that. Engaging in a sport often means participating in a society. Sports clubs play a crucial role in this and are a meeting place for all kinds of people. And, it is quite the perfect timing for this post I say! I took these photos about two weeks ago, during the first matches of the season after C19. The end of a wait that felt like forever and much anxiety, but finally the kids could give it a go again to play with their teams: and the photos clearly show how much they enjoyed the day, their sport.

Playing handball means a lot for my family - quite remarkable as it was a sport I was completely unfamiliar with as in Mexico it is not really a common game. However, after we moved to the Netherlands my kids gave it a try, became instantly hooked and now they are frankly a bit fanatic. After two years being part of HV Nieuwegein, I've seen what sporting has done for them: keeping them fit, channelling their endless energy, learning new skills, but also the sense of belonging to a team, they celebrate victories together and strengthen the bonds after the occasional defeats, they laugh and enjoy every training, supporting each other's progress.

Personally, I can just say that the days when I go for a run, I definitely feel less stressed, happier! So, indeed: let's #beactive

Do you want a special photo session? Have a look at my portfolio and learn more about my services as a professional family, child and event photographer. Book a session now: a wild, free, happy one!

16 views0 comments
bottom of page